News From the MTC

The MTC has been great and I’m learning a whole lot! I hope everything is going well! I’m getting excited to leave soon!

Unfortunately, Elder Christiansen (friend, also from the Durango Ward) is in Wyview while I’m on the main MTC campus so basically I’ll never see him. And I haven’t seen Elder Stepan (cousin) yet but I think most Spanish speakers are on the main MTC campus so I’m hoping I see him before I leave early on Tuesday morning. I wish I would have seen Elder Christiansen at the devotional on Tuesday, but there were 3000 missionaries or so packed into the Marriott Center so that would have been unlikely.

We are really busy here. We have about 2 3-hour blocks of class each day, about 50 min for gym time, and 45 min for meals, and almost every night we have “Teaching Resource Clinic” where we practice teaching. The rest of the time is spent in studying, companionship inventory, or other preparation. The days are really long but its good because we learn alot and are progressing alot as missionaries.

The missionaries in my district/class are already some of my closest friends! Its great! 4 of the Elders in my district are going to St. Louis and I’m going to miss them pretty bad; but my companion and I, and all of the sisters in my district, and another entire district in my zone are going to Seattle with me.

The MTC is a pretty hard experience sometimes and it’s definitely humbling but its also super spiritual and uplifting! My testimony of prayer and the enabling power of the Atonement has grown greatly since entering the MTC. When I was first set apart as a missionary, I started to have great feelings of inadequacy. I realize now that these feelings were from Satan, but at first it felt like I wasn’t and couldn’t become a good missionary. As I prayed for strength from my Heavenly Father, I was able to recieve feelings of comfort. Since entering the MTC, those feelings of comfort have grown, and I know that I’ve grown a lot as a missionary. While I am still far from the perfect missionary, I know that my Heavenly Father has given me the strength to overcome trials, to grow, and to develop a greater understanding of the Gospel that I will be preaching to others in a few short days.

I testify that Jesus Christ really is our Savior and Redeemer, and that through His Atonement, we can change, and become better servants to Him. He loves us perfectly and will always be there willing to help us overcome our individual inadequacies. Simply put, He wants us to Come Unto Him, and partake of love, and receive the benefit of His Atonement

Me, Elder England (in the middle), and Elder Bachelor (my companion)

Me, Elder England (in the middle), and Elder Bachelor (my companion)

The Elders in my MTC District

The Elders in my MTC District

DSC00009

My entire District.

My entire District.

.

Leave a Reply

